A new layout that lacks inspiration

APT Fan

Hi all,

I'm quite new to layout building and I'm just about to start with one after spending over a year on and off preparing the loft space. I've quite enjoyed the building work but I'm nearly at the end of the job list now so I can't keep putting off the layout build forever, I'm just a little bit nervous about it.

A large Fakro loft hatch has been fitted with fold-away timber ladders making access so easy. Then a timber sub frame has been built on to which the floor boards have been fitted. A ring main with 10 sockets, perhaps a bit over the top, but I wanted to be able to use a 2.5Kw Oil filled radiator in the room plus I was not happy with the condition of the existing radial supply in there so that had to come out. Foil insulation has been fitted and has made a huge difference, -5C outside today but it hasn't dropped below 12C up there all week and takes no time to warm up to a pleasant temperature. A game changer has been fitting the Velux windows which has made it such a pleasant environment, I hardly ever need the lights on during the day due to it being so light and it can be quite bearable in the summer with the windows open. I think we had 33C one day and it was still (only) 25C in the loft.