Using Railtec Rivet Transfers on Brass

Rustony

I am currently assembling/bashing my first brass kit, and it's nearly time to apply the rivet decals and paint, however as this is my first time I am not sure the best order/way to do this.

My main question is whether I should apply the rivets straight to the brass before applying (Halfords etch) primer, or prime first. I often see the rivets applied directly to the metal, although a search of the forum suggests that they can be applied after the primer too, and this also removes the risk of the rivet detail being swamped by the primer. 

Secondly, regardless of whether the rivets are applied before or after the primer, how do I go about cleaning/prepping the model after applying the rivets before the next layer of paint? Would the decals or the softening/setting solution leave some residue that needs to be removed before the next layer of paint is applied? I've already had to strip some parts back as I didn't degrease before applying the etch primer so it scratched off easily - I have IPA to degrease with next time, but am concerned that this may damage the rivets or I may knock them off during cleaning.

For reference, I have Halfords etch primer, plus decal softener, decal fix, varnish (gloss, satin and matt) and acrylic airbrush paint (all Vallejo). Also Cif Cream cleaner and IPA for cleaning/degreasing before painting.

Thanks. 

• RMweb Premium

I would definitely say apply after primer - for two reasons: one is that the transfers are designed to be used on paint; the second is that the primer coat may reveal where work still needs to be done to fill cracks or correct an imperfection in your modelling; once that's done, you'll have to make repairs and re-prime (easier to do locally with airbrush primer). If you need to do this, then you don't want to be removing and redoing rivets in the area to be repaired.