Fleischmann 4016 BR 70 overloading the controller

MattR

Re-writing this post to more accurately describe what's happening.

Recently I picked up Fleischmann’s H0 BR 70 (model number 4016) with the old Ringfield-style motor. I serviced it and it runs great (albeit noisy) -- smooth, good at low speeds, good torque/pulling power

However, it runs fine for a bit (see times in later posts), then overloads the controller and trips the circuit breaker in it (I use a Bachmann trainset controller, which I have three of on different layout and never had any issues with them). The controller gets very hot before tripping. The locomotive feels normal, just a little warm as normal.

I’m new to Fleischmann — does anyone who knows these motors have an idea of where to start looking to remedy this, short of buying a whole new motor?

IMG_1748.jpeg

IMG_1747.jpeg

IMG_1749.jpeg

Edited by MattR
Better description

Not that I can see. I've added lots of insulation tape around areas where wires come in contact with metal, but no changes. Removed the weight (which sits on a plastic spacer over the metal valve-gear brackets -- nothing.

I decided to time it to see how long it takes to short out the track

- Run #1 (boiler forward, clockwise): 7 minutes, 28 seconds

- Run #2 (boiler forward, clockwise): 4 minutes 57 seconds

- Run #3 (bunker forward, counter-clockwise): 9 minutes, 12 seconds

- Run #4 (bunker forward, counter-clockwise): 4 minutes, 9 seconds

- Run #5 (boiler forward, counter-clockwise) : 10 minutes 20 seconds

- Run #6 (boiler forward, counter-clockwise): 12 minutes 24 seconds 

The controller gets very hot and then the circuit breaker inside trips. You unplug it and in resets after 2-3 minutes.

Heat from loco motor is barely discernible.

Edited by MattR

• RMweb Premium