Hornby TT:120 21 ton mineral wagons

Porfuera

I thought I'd kick off a thread on these wagons, seeing as they may be the next TT:120 wagons to arrive - assuming the HAAs don't overtake them and beat them to it.

I know everyone and his dog would have preferred Hornby to have produced the 16 ton minerals instead of these, but it is what it is. I'm sure someone will produce 16T minerals at some point - maybe Peco if not Hornby themselves... Roll on April - maybe they will be announced then?

I for one am looking forward to these arriving - more stock can only be a good thing, right? And for me these (reasonably) modern-image wagons are even better. And I guess the chassis can be used under 3D printed bodies of other wagons and they would be cheaper than using the chassis from the TTAs.

These appear to be the pre-production prototypes (photo from Key Model World):

kmw_hornby_tt120_21ton.jpeg.9b2a20cc6f06e7ad86dda19a38399648.jpeg

I'm not an expert (on anything) but the online shop seems to be a bit confused over the Eras and identities for these wagons. They are listed and pictured as:

TT6015 21T Mineral Wagon, B314633 - Era 5 (bauxite livery is pictured)

TT6016 21T Mineral wagon, P200781 - Era 4 (grey livery is pictured)

TT6017 21T Mineral Wagon, B316500 - Era 6 (Glenhafod livery is pictured)

It seems to me that the Glenhafod wagon should be the Era 4 wagon rather than the grey livery that is pictured in the shop. I guess that the 'P' prefix on P200781 indicates Private Owner and since the colliery was closed by the National Coal Board on November 28th 1958 then this would make these Glenhafod wagons Era 4/5.

And seeing that the running number of the grey wagon in the photo above is B316500 then it seems that pictures on the shop entries for TT6016 and TT6017 have been swapped around.