I'm a (newly qualified) Signalman on a preserved Railway - Ask Me Anything

StuartMc

It's just coming up for a year from when I decided to pop down to the nearest preserved railway to me (The Colne Valley Railway, just over the border from me in Essex) with a view to volunteering in some capactity. I ended up meeting a lovely chap, Derek, who showed me the signal box and after a few months of practice and study later, I became qualified to run it myself. I would heartily reccomend anyone with a railway interest of any sort should also pop along to their local preserved line and find out what you'd like to do.

I am thinking that (although I'm by no means an expert), I have picked up a lot of insider knowledge that might be useful to modellers.

So, ask away.

Don't be afraid to speak up if you think your question might be too basic or obvious - if you are thinking like that then you are exactly the person I want to help out the most.

Stuart

IMG_20230405_115302-halfsize.jpg.f605bbc5a9af3ac2b686812aaba82899.jpgIMG_20230405_132335-halfsize.jpg.57a50178e924cb3028243e3a97c8ee10.jpgIMG_20230405_132350-halfsize.jpg.232fd5307dad54f9fe74f028b9477fe5.jpgIMG_20230405_132402-halfsize.jpg.51f56793b620c988194ba92c610077c7.jpgIMG_20230405_132421-halfsize.jpg.2b27c471df7d8da5fa38c5560ac00341.jpg

• Like 10
  • Round of applause 3

Good photos.  Shouldn't 2 lever be painted white.  I notice that spares aren't shown on the diagram.

1 minute ago, BMS said:

Hi,#Could you conform that the object beyond the chair in the second phot is a gatewheel please?

Or alternatively what is it!

Thanks

Yes!

3 hours ago, Michael Hodgson said:

Good photos.  Shouldn't 2 lever be painted white.  I notice that spares aren't shown on the diagram.

Yes!

You are correct about the wheel.