Basecoat paints and techniques?

I'm planning to get some paints mixed for airbrushing and brushing, learning how to paint models to a high standard and putting together a compressor setup etc.  

There seems to be a choice of practically any finish available from paint mixers, so I am guessing as to what to get.

From following what I have seem in military modelling videos, I guess a primer, then an acrylic base coat of some sort, then decals, then a clear acrylic matt varnish to seal, followed by oil/enamel washes if desired, maybe some weathering powders and finally a varnish to finish.

What isn't apparent is the base coat to use, should it be gloss, satin or matt. 

Can someone please advise of what base coats to use?

If I were to order a paint base colour mix, what should I ask for regarding application to regular plastic/brass models?

https://oval.co.uk/shop/allis-chalmers-orange-m22-v1-2/

I've been painting models for over 30 years in 00, and lately in 0.

My methods are simple and suit my needs.  If you were painting professionally or for museum use, you might need to get more sophisticated.

Painting starts even before the model assembly is done because some areas may not be accessible afterwards, so you need to watch for that.

Once ready for paint, I use either grey or red oxide primer as an undercoat.  These are widely available at DIY and car places.  Use grey for top colours like black, green, blue etc.  Use red oxide for top colours like red, brown etc.  Leave the primer to cure at least over night.

I don't usually use an airbrush for the top colour, but when I do, I generally use acrylic (lots of people swear by enamels so it really is a personal thing). 

For the top coat of goods wagons, I'm happy to brush paint.  My wagons all get weathered so, to me, no need to get fussy about exact shades.