Bachmann 57xx - What decoder?

Dean525

Im guessing this has subject been done to death but ive looked through previous threads an failed to find any answers. I always to get lost in the mountains of technical info available on here. Im fairly new to DCC so be kind.

What would be a good decoder to fit to my Bachmann 57xx? It will be mainly used for a shunting on a small home layout so im guessing a chip with a shunting function would be handy and id like to fit lights as shown in one of the magazines recenty. So what can you suggest?

Ive previously chipped a Hornby 08 and a Bachmann 25 with Hornby decoders but that was before I started to really look into the subject and just went for what I was easiest. Both there locos have only been test run so ive not really experimented with what the decoders can do.

Sorry for the newbie question,

Thanks

Dean

• RMweb Gold

My only advice is do NOT use a TCS plug in 8 pin - it will short on the loco wiring (resistors I think) - don't ask how I know - I hard wired a SWD Lok Micro and managed to fit the speaker in the boiler as there is so much unnecessary stuff around the 8 pin socket that can come out.

Chris

Worth putting in a good decoder to extract the best in performance, a curent Lenz or Zimo decoder would be my choice.

Nothing to do with DCC as such, but a worthwhile mod to all Bachmann steamers with a sprung axle. Look at the diagram to see the chassis layout. Unscrew the keeper plate, and cut down the keeper plate sides and the centre rib a little about 0.5mm to allow the axle and spring plunger a little more downward travel. Stretch the plunger spring slightly. Adjust the pick up wipers if required to ensure positive contact on the wheelbacks thriough the full range of side to side movement. Just helps ensure reliable pick up.

I used one of the Digitrax chips, that worked well, until I bought a Howes sound chip..I fitted that the same way as Gilbert did.