00 Western Terminus Layout

adriantr

Hi Everyone,

While I've had a model railway collection for over a decade (I know this is a short amount of time for many of you!), this will be my first attempt at a permanent layout.

In the future I would like to (given enough time!) convert this from a terminus to a through station and incorporate it into a slightly larger, continuous layout. However, that will be many years from now so don't let it hamper any ideas you might have.

Track Plan

I'll start by thanking everyone from this thread, in particular DuncanF. I was browsing this forum looking for track plan ideas and saw this one and all but fell in love. It has pretty much everything I want! I've re-created it in AnyRail (a terrific piece of software!) and made a few changes of my own. I would love to hear everyone's feedback on it. Please forgive the slightly terrible curves and bends in places (particularly the goods yard, engine shed and return loop, goods shed), I'm new to this AnyRail software (or indeed any track planning software), I promise I'll make the curves smoother and the straights straighter when it comes to pinning it down to the baseboard!

Notably, I have omitted a turntable. This isn't final, while I have a Hornby turntable, I would be interested in building my own based on a real-world prototype but I am undecided on that yet. If I did include one, it would be placed between the engine shed and the rest of the yard.

post-10200-003669700 1289368678_thumb.png

Setting

I do not have a particular prototype in mind, however I want to set it somewhere in South Wales. I grew up in there (although I now live in Canada), so that region holds a personal interest for me. Scenery-wise, I'm looking at 50s - 60s, and the same goes for rolling stock. While it will probably mostly be steam and some diesel, there may be the odd DMU here and there. The town itself will be to the north and east of the terminus.

Misc