Trefor - North Wales circa 1934

Jan C H

Was going to start a gallery with these shots but I don't seem to be able get anything to upload. So I'll post some photos here instead.

But first a bit of background. This is my first serious layout and I have been making very slow progress with it for about 6 years now. However, I finally feel it is presentable enough to photograph.

In the 19th Century, a line along the north coast of the Lleyn peninsula was proposed to terminate in Morfa Nefyn (or Porth Dinllaen). This would become the main port for the LNWR's ferries to Ireland. However, before things got very far, it was decided to construct a line across Anglesey and develop Holyhead instead. Morfa Nefyn was left to remain the quiet place it remains today.

In my imaginary world, the line was constructed but before the port could be developed, a change of strategy re-focussed on Holyhead. This left the Morfa Nefyn line as a branch line. The advent of the railway generated some development of Porth Dinllaen but nowhere near as much as resulted in Holyhead. However, the final through station before Morfa Nefyn would have been Trefor. This is a small port at the foot of Yr Eifi. This is a granite hill which was heavily quarried to provide almost all the stone setts on the streets of Britain. Not only would this provide regular goods traffic for the railway but may, I reasoned even require a narrow gauge feeder line and transfer area.

Anyway - you can tell I've thought about this... But enough blurb - here's the images:

28r.jpg

26r.jpg

23r.jpg

22r.jpg

21r.jpg

18r.jpg

16r.jpg

14r.jpg

13r.jpg

11r.jpg

7r.jpg

5r.jpg

4r.jpg

2r.jpg

1r.jpg

Delightful, Jan, and very believable - especially like the dock area and the signals even though they're perhaps a little inaccurate for some tastes. Nevertheless, they convey bags of atmosphere which is just as important to me :)