May I ask a question about this layout please...?

SIR DUBALOT

Hello everyone I wondered as Im new to model railways if I could post up a picture of a proposed layout for shunting that I plan to incorporate on an upper lever on my layout that I am currently constructing please? I would be very interested in what peoples thoughts and comments are on this as if its not suitable, Id want to change things now to maximise the operational enjoyment. Im using oo gauge and the space is approx 7ft by 18 inches. My era is 1980's so the locos I will be using here are class 08's.

Here is a picture.

Shunt6-1.jpg

Many thanks in advance for any comments or advice.

Best regards

Willy.........................

• RMweb Gold

Couple of things first it might be worth starting a thread on the main layout in the layouts section as an introduction so people know what type of stock and era you are modelling. Also you can then add this on as part of it so people can comment on it as a whole railway.

Right now first impression is ok operationally track wise but you don't appear to have much room for industries for your sidings to serve. The second reverse to 'fiddleyard' also appears to have little benefit as it requires a double reverse shunt to access it from the mainline and would restrict use of a siding to leave access open. Now if the Fy was an entrance to a complex and the sidings facing it are the transfer sidings it might work better as a story to justify what you have drawn.

So hope that helps but consider a full thread with more info so people can give you more feedback appropriate to your thoughts without leading you off at too many tangents ;)

• 3 weeks later...

Couple of things first it might be worth starting a thread on the main layout in the layouts section as an introduction so people know what type of stock and era you are modelling. Also you can then add this on as part of it so people can comment on it as a whole railway.