The Oval

The Nth Degree

I've been planning an N gauge layout for a few months, constantly drawing and redrawing the track plan. I have very limited space in which to work (less than a metre) so it has to be right from the start - there's no margin for error in this teeny tiny track. Oh, I forgot to mention, it's going to have a runaround track plus an Inglenook on two separate levels in a 900x600 footprint. Something else I forgot to mention, it's going to run 4 engines/trains on DC, one at a time.

Yes, you purist will certainly have something to say about all this, and so do I: go look at a prototype topic, this is not for you. This is just for me.

The problem is I've never done this before. This is my first ever layout – except for the trainset I had as a nipper, but that was just an oval (as you'll see soon, things haven't moved along a great deal...) and ran on batteries. So, I thought I'd experiment and train (yes, a pun) myself in the basics of this hobby. To do that I've decided to make a test track, a little larger at 1400x1000, to run and store the trains I've bought, and to keep on my desk at the office.

The simplest plan I've come up with for this is a basic oval with a few inside spurs (term?) to store my trains. When I want to run one I flick the points over and away I go. When I finish playing, it reverses home for dinner. The key to the plan (for speed and simplicity) is basic wiring – controller on the track and go. No isolation sections, no point motors, no switches or buttons. Just the speed and direction controller.

I've bought most of the track and some buffers for the spurs(?). I'm just waiting for the rest of the track and a simple controller. I can then set about making a baseboard when I've tested all out on my desk.

Here is the plan. I may make the spur lengths longer to accommodate longer trains:

post-11337-0-49901500-1299513076_thumb.png

• RMweb Premium