Are these Hornby coaches accurate for the period ?

Hornby have produced a number of train packs (some still to be released ) which contain some beautifully lined GWR coaches :

R2956 GWR 175 train pack

R2706 Flying Dutchman train pack

R3061 County class train pack

Are these coaches accurate for the period ? They seem to be coaches from the 1930's rather than the 1900/1910 period. I am not an expert and my GWR book on coaches has not arrived yet.

They are the Dean corridor clerestory stock, dating from the 1890s and certainly in period for 1900-1910. They were still in use in the 1930s, though generally relegated to secondary express services by then and being repainted into a plainer version of the chocolate and cream livery.

The coaches in the Flying Dutchman pack are in pre-1906 third-class livery, while the coaches in the GWR 175 pack are in the post-1906 livery. In the FD case the all-third should probably be labelled as a 2nd/3rd composite (as the old releases of these coaches were). The prototype of this coach was built as a second/third composite, and relegated to being an all-third when second class was discontinued (IIRC the pair of toilets between the two sections were rebuilt into a compartment).

The ones in the R2980 pack with the County appear to be the same livery as in the GWR 175 pack.

Note that, other than the ones in the FD pack, these could also be used as post-1923 coaches (when repainted out of lake), as that livery was very similar. The livery would not have lasted very long, though, as the full lining out was no longer being done by about 1928.

As mentioned, these are 1890s-built prototypes, latterly diagrammed as a C15 all-third and a D29* brake third.

Adrian

*Edit - see my post #15 below

The lining is indeed well done. It is a pity that the mouldings that should carry the lining are not present. :blink: