Bachmann Jubilee

Lochinvar

This could equally be posted on the Prototype forum,because I'm enquiring about a matter of protypical accuracy.

All of Bachmann's present models of the Jubilee carry numbers lower than 45665 because - as I understand it -they reflect the class in its low superheat/small firebox form. There was,I think,talk that we might in due course see examples in the later 45665-45742 form. (I'm guessing that no-one here knows when,or even if,that might happen). If ,meanwhile,"a friend of mine" (ahem) was thinking about a simple re-numbering/re-naming of one of the currently-available models,what would be visually "wrong" about it?. Were the differences between the 2 batches so visibly obvious?

I'd be grateful for an expert view on that-thanks

DR

Hi DR,

I'm not an expert and I don't know if the information about Bachmann Jubilee numbering is correct but I remember a pretty good article in Model Rail two or three years ago, describing the many differences of the prototype. I'll see if I can find it and scan it for you.

Also, if you're talking about the 4mm model, it may be useful to know that Brassmaster plans to introduce a Jubilee detailing kit later this year or early next ??“ and if it's anything like their Black 5's then it will also describe the numerous prototype variants. My Bachmann Jubilee is sitting waiting in the cupboard for this very reason!

Ryan

• RMweb Gold

As built, there were two versions - short firebox vertical throatplate (5552-5664) and long firebox sloping throatplate (5665-5742).

The short firebox versions had the firebox/boiler joint between the centre and rear drivers - from memory I think they have 5 washout plugs along the top of the firebox?

The long firebox versions had the firebox/boiler joint over the centre of the middle driver and 6 washout plugs - I think?

As such the current Bachmann represents the earlier loco, but suspect the later variants will require significant changes in the tooling?