Diamond crossings or a ladder of crossovers?

Wilf

Hello everyone, I've been having a good read of everything in preparation for building a layout after a long break from the hobby (though shorter than most of these breaks - I'm still a student).

I was wondering if I might ask some advice.

If I were to have a piece of 4 track main line, paired by direction, and a nearby yard which needed connecting to the two outer slow lines, but not the fast lines, would I use diamond crossings (involving lots of maintenance due to high speed running on the central fast lines and the resultant abuse that the frogs would get, if this were a real railway) or a ladder of facing crossovers?

Thanks

Wilf

Hi

in model form it's often better to use diamonds purely because of the length required for the equivilent functionality as a ladder.

If you were to change the layout proposal slightly, and have the tracks grouped in speed not direction, eg your current proposal is ~ UP SLOW, UP FAST, DN FAST, DN SLOW, changed to UP SLOW, DN SLOW, UP FAST, DN FAST you'd be ok coming out of the yard with fixed diamonds due to the relative slower speeds encountered, all depends on where your modelling GE, MML & WCML are all grouped in the second way, ECML and i think GWML might be done in the first.

I'm not sure if a modern real layout would have a route that crossed 3 lines including the up & down fasts in one hit with diamonds, as this would cause operational inconvinience, so perhaps a ladder would be more prototypical.

If you want high speed running, do as the real thing, install some switch diamonds, unformtunatly I don't think these are commercially available, but they must be buildable from scratch (i've toyed with some myself but never got round to it , YET ~ has anyone else?)

Mike

Hello everyone, I've been having a good read of everything in preparation for building a layout after a long break from the hobby (though shorter than most of these breaks - I'm still a student).