Phoenix Coach Kits

Hello All

I recently acquired a rake of four Phoenix LNER suburban coaches from eBay. I've never built such a beast before, but I thought I could give them a try.

They don't look too complicated, other than having to add the panelling to the sides myself.

Has anyone had much experience with these coaches? Anyone care to share some pointers or suggestions on how to put these together?

Many thanks in advance!

Derek

Derek

They are great fun and easy to build, score the doors in with a metal scriber, drill out holes for door and grab handles, sand the areas which will have glue on them and use either epoxy or impact glue for the sides, ends and floor. You may want to use a Comet underframe as the Phoenix underframes are a bit scarse on details. Build the roof but do not fix till last when all is painted and detailed.

They are realy nice kits which yoy can keep nice and simple of super detail, you can still buy them.

Phoenix kits were good in their day and the flush-sided kits still are. But when it comes to putting ones own panelling on them, as with Gresley teak coaches, why bother when the end result is like trading your modern car for a Barny Rubble sledge.

Use etched brass sides. Trouble then is the sides are 1inch high and lack the extra height that Phoenix added to allow the roof to clip over the sides. But then you wouldnt want it to otherwise the gutter would obscure the tops of the windows. As the chassis is also very basic, you can see where this is leading........You may as well start off with an etched brass kit.

Has anyone had much experience with these coaches? Anyone care to share some pointers or suggestions on how to put these together?

I painted around 280 per year for thirty one years or so but built only the odd one. Lawrence Scale Models used Evostick throughout those years from 1973.