If you are seeing any suspect adverts please go to the bottom of the page and click on Themes and select IPS Default. ×

Paint stripping - your opinions please

Dear all. I've had a mild (no more than mild) disaster with my P4 Deltic - see http://www.rmweb.co.uk/community/index.php?/blog/587/entry-7401-p4-class-55-deltic-conversion-hopefully-not-an-end/

I'm considering the best options open to me to prevent me writing this one off. I would like to try to not loose or damage as many of the etch parts as possible, but realise that it is inevitable that some will be lost in the process... but what I want to achieve is a clean start point to start over... making sure that all paint is removed especially from all the fine grills and mesh parts added... and in the nooks and crannies such as the headcode brackets, under the lifting point covers and footstep recesses. I realise that I may be asking quite a bit here - but I've no experience with these strip methods. I won't want to run the risk of anything that might attack the plastic or glues - although that might be unavoidable (?)...

I found a 2009 thread on this subject on the old forum http://www.rmweb.co.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?f=86&t=40619&sid=f4999e89a93ed5e6ce12ade79624975e&start=25 but wondered whether this had ever been updated with recent experience.

Any help to enable me to recover this recent disaster... much appreciated.

thanks... in anticipation.

Jon

Hydraulic brake fluid has often been recommended on here and I tried it for the first time a few months ago and was initially more than pleased with the results.

BUT, I now find myself suspecting that over time brake fluid makes the plastic harder and more brittle. I've had a couple of handrails snap off after comparatively mild handling and tapping a bodyshell that has been through a bath of DOT3 now produces a noticeably sharper, harder sound than an identical bodyshell that hasn't.