Shaunnnnnnnnn

So, I've lurked here anonymously for a while now, but I've finally decided to start a thread.

Everfree Lane is a modern image exhibition layout that I am planning to build. The scenic section will be 12 feet by 2 feet, and will feature the end of a station, protruding from under a bridge, and a small yard of some persuasion. Here's my proposed track plan.

post-13148-0-63844700-1316304208_thumb.png

This isn't the first layout that I've built, I've built several before, but non to exhibition standard, and never portable. So I'm a beginner at this, and as I progress I would like some advice from the community on the best way to do things.

The scenic section will be made up of two six by two boards, which are ready to be worked on, and the trackwork will be Peco Code 100, as I already have some of that. I also have a fair few DCC fitted OO gauge locos and a Bachmann Dynamis from my previous layouts, however a lot of the locomotives have developed problems.

The Fleet

Hornby Class 08 - EWS - 08799 - Quite noisy, but I assume this is normal for 08/09s.

Hornby Class 09 - Mainline - 09019 - Again, noisy, but I assume this is normal.

Hornby Class 31 - Fragonset - 31452 - Runs perfectly, except high instensity headlight doesn't work at one end.

Heljan Class 33 - Dutch - 33201 - Will run a short distance, then cut out. Also quite slow.

Heljan Class 33 - Mainline - 33204 - Perfect runner, no problems anywhere.

ViTrains Class 37 - EWS - 37405 - Quite noisy and quite slow, also runs faster in one direction that the other.

ViTrains Class 37 - EW&S - 37427 - Noisy, struggles to move.

Hornby Class 56 - Loadhaul - 56003 - Perfect runner, but missing a buffer.

Hornby Class 56 - Fastline - 56302 - Perfect runner, no problems.

Hornby Class 60 - EWS - 60014 - Perfect runner, no problems.

Hornby Class 60 - Mainline - 60078 - Non runner, no DCC decoder, but tested with one and was uncontrollable.

Bachmann Class 66 - EWS - 66068 - Perfect runner, no problems.