Linking Incompatible DCC Systems

Philately

I have a Gaugemaster Prodigy 2 DCC system to control my locomotives, which I like, but which isn't and seemingly will never be compatible with my iMac G5. Currently my points are hand operated (it's a small layout) but I want to control them, and signalling, via DCC from the G5.

There is a Gaugemaster program for Windows PCs (I also have an Intel iMac which can run Windows within a PC emulator), but the MRC program doesn't seem to allow me to create a power box screen with track diagrams. Both JMRI and RocRail do have this ability, but can't connect to the MRC protocol. The obvious solution would be to use a Sprog II.

My problem is this: I can't work out how I could connect a train sensor - part of a block signalling system controlled by JMRI/Sprog - such that it will tell the Gaugemaster to slow the train when a red shows, and restart it when the signal changes to amber or green. I'm probably being dunder-headed, but can anyone offer a solution please? If not, the Gaugemaster will have to go.

Richard

Someone might Nigelcliffe might have a better idea but I can't think of a way to do what you want if you can't get JMRI to talk to the gaugemaster system. You can certainly have multiple systems within JMRI and have them talk to each other though its not useful if one isn't talking to JMRI!

The Sprog wont be able to link to it directly.

Thinking about it laterally I guess if the gaugemaster system allows inputs of some type to influence behaviour you could have the computer tell an accessory module connected to the Sprog to change that would send an input to the module connected to the gaugemaster. Better just to swap system though!

JMRI, Rocrail and TrainController all support multiple systems but I don't think any of them supports the Gaugemaster. You also need to find something to run on the MAC. The PC emulators sometimes have problems when it comes to controlling I/O ports.