Fay's Workshop - S7 Stock Building for the Widened Lines

My layout thread http://www.rmweb.co....-widened-lines/ has been embarrassingly quiet due to me being pre-occupied with, amongst other things, work and our groups S7 layout. The layout is still in the design stage primarily due to a very kind rmwebber supplying me with a copy of a 20' to the inch civil engineering plan showing the track layout and platform alterations carried out as part of the 1926 re-modelling and re-signalling scheme. This 20 foot plan has formed the basis of a fresh Templotting exercise.

The other challenge I have is building all my rolling stock which is something I have never done before. I have built a couple of Slaters and Parkside wagon kits but have never built a loco kit or scratchbuilt something so these expolits are very much the start of a voyage of discovery.

I started an N2 as my first loco kit building attempt but although it looked quite basic with a few bags of white metal castings and 4 brass etches (and therefore appeared quite easy). The instructions were quite poor and I soon came to a halt. I subsequently found a review of the kit in the Gauge O Guild Gazette which did not recommend the kit as first time attempt. I therefore decided to pack the kit away for a later day and try something else.

Metropolitan-Vickers. Bo-Bo (Part 1)

The kit is produced by Ken's Profiles and I brought 2 of these kits at Guildex in September 2011. Very briefly the box contains some very high quality brass etches, numerous white metal and lost wax castings, and comprehensive instructions.

post-6371-0-46595200-1325958527_thumb.jpg

Comprehensive and clear instructions come with the kit.

post-6371-0-23737600-1325958559_thumb.jpg

A selection of component parts with each bag individually labelled so you can check against the parts list that comes with the instructions.