Reviving a lima 50

D5541

Evening all

I have a lima class 50 (not dcc chipped) that showed no signs of life when I got it so it's been sat on a shelf for several months. I stuck it on some track tonight however n although it sounds like someone stirring a bucket of gravel it stuttered backwards n forwards for 6 inches in either direction. So going to give it a bit of an oil and a run in but have a couple questions...

1) Where do I put the oil, just the gears on the axles or is there anywhere on the motor that'll need doing?

2) Having never run in a loco before, how long do I give it in either direction?

3) As slow speed running is abysmal, is it ok to start it at speed and run it down or do I have to start slowly and build up speed?

Cheers

Dan

Morning!

You don't mention if you tried the loco on a dc layout or on dcc and trying to run the loco on the setting for a non-chipped example. I have no experience of the latter, the notes below are for straight dc operation.

First bet would be to make sure the wheels are clean, that may take care of the stuttering.

Lima motors are renowned for being noisy anyway but I have had success in quietening them down. Oiling does help so long as you use just the smallest amount, I have a bottle with a very fine tube on the end that ensures placement of only a drop at a time.

1) Oil each gear where it is attached to the motor casing; you could also apply some to the armature bearings but be very careful doing this, too much and you'll be stripping the motor down to clean it...