Metropolitan Railway - 1913 Electric Stock in S7

Having plenty of free time over the Easter week means that I can start work on building some rolling stock for my layout which is at last starting to show some progress. I already have a Met BoBo kit on the workbench which is my first attempt at brass kit construction.

This is my first attempt at scratchbuilding any rolling stock so I thought I would have ago at the scratchbuild challenge at the same time. I will have to use some "ready made" components but these are largely limited to the bogies and wheels.

First of all it's sort out some reference material.

post-6371-0-04677800-1333922532_thumb.jpg

Then it's check up on my stock pile of plastikard and fine ply sheet. No chance of running out of raw materials here.

post-6371-0-00868500-1333922544_thumb.jpg

Then it's sort out some working drawings. Hopefully between now and October I will manage a six coach train of 1913 electric stock which is formed of two 3rd class motor cars, two 3rd class trailer cars and two 1st class driving trailers. This makes a train of 3M, 3T, 1DT + 1DT, 3T, 3M. This effectively gives two 3 car sets coupled together.

post-6371-0-61954100-1333922560_thumb.jpg

First it's cut up some 2mm thick plastikard which will form the floor of each car.

post-6371-0-58791900-1333922575_thumb.jpg

The underframes are angle rather than the usual H channel so i have represented it here with Plastruct. The floor is a basic attempt to get the sizes correct. The bogie mountings will be sorted out later.

post-6371-0-98440000-1333922591_thumb.jpg

Progress so far with work starting on the cab ends. Here I am starting to look at building the various sections in batches.

post-6371-0-62630700-1333922611_thumb.jpg

Further fun lies ahead..........

Very nice start here, through running into the world of Basilica Fields might be achievable with help from the Doctor. Not sure about passenger complaints regarding fare rises from 1895 to 1915.