HST DCC SOUND AND DECODER

cornishmick

hi i have a brand new Hornby hst first great western DCC READY and i want to go DCC FITTed with Sound i belive Howes Models are the best for DCC Sound but my question is the sound decoder seperate to the normal decoder in fact would anyone be able to tell me how to go about fitting the lot from start to finish and rougthly how much would it cost?

any advise would be great as im new to dcc

mike

The sound decoder is basically a normal operational decoder with a sound speak attached so this will drive the model as well as provide the sounds. To fit it all you should have to do is take the top off the model, remove the 8 pin blanking plug and install the sound decoder. Best thing to do would be fit the speaker to the inside of the roof of the body.

The cost will be approx £117.50 per sound decoder, you may want to put a second sound chip in the dummy car but this would double your costs - a cheaper option will be to have a standard non-sound chip in the back to work the lights.

Would it not be better to put the sound chip in the dummy as there is more room and then a regular decoder in the power car?

The decoder, sound or not, needs four connections. two to the pick ups and two to the motor. Thus the decoder needs to go where all four connections are placed. 99/100 this is next to the motor.

If the lights are powered from the dummy car pick ups and you want the lights DCC controlled, then the advice to fit an accessory decoder in the dummy car is good.

It seems as though you are relatively new to DCC and if so, you might do well to have an ESU dealer in your home town install the decoders for you and pay him to do so.