British Railways Rules & Regs (1948-1980) - topic of the day

Mornin' all,

The topic of BR Rules & Regs is potentially vast so why not have a specific topic of the day, suggested by a modeller wanting to know about a particular aspect of 1948 to 1980 BR operation e.g.distant signals, pipes on loco bufferbeams, headcodes etc and we'll have a concerted effort to pool all relevant information on one thread for that day?

Any starters?

Dave

Starters: a stop signal usually sited at the end of a platform. Can also be the section signal, giving entry to the block section ahead of the signal. :sungum:

Mornin' Roy,

....we're instantly into the jargon of the railway. The name 'Starter' can be given to the stop signal controlling access to the block section in advance but the name shouldn't be confused with a stop signal described as a platform starter, which may only authorise movements towards the next stop signal.

Tip for absolute beginners - Google the BR video 'Absolute block', it was a training film for signalmen and gives the basics of the signalling system.

Here is a link to a suitable instructional video

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eT_AVJjnotc&list=PL04B08DA76EB0306F&index=27&feature=plpp_video

on U-tube

On lines worked under the 'Absolute Block' system of signalling, easily the most common during the 1948-1980 period, the Section signal or 'Starter' could have been a semaphore stop signal - red arm (with white vertical band) horizontal for stop and raised or lowered by 45 degrees to show proceed, at night showing a red light for stop and a green light for proceed or else a two aspect colour light signal capable of showing red or green.

Dave

• RMweb Gold

Starters: a stop signal usually sited at the end of a platform. Can also be the section signal, giving entry to the block section ahead of the signal. :sungum: