Weathering n gauge locomotives and rolling stock

Hi all

I am fairly new to n gauge. I have been a modeller for two years and now I want to make my rolling stock realistic by weathering. Companies all want £30 for each locomotives and I do not want to pay for 100 wagons and 10 locomotives. Anyway, I want to know how to weather my locomotives. I am great full for any help. Thank you all.

Please look at my other post about the 3 tender steam era rail track cleaner ( I believe it is. Helton that will be great aswell) !

I have decided to use humbrol weathering powders to weather. I have placed an order and I am waiting for them. As I am an ex oo gauge modeller, I have decided to practice on a steam loco, diesel, wagon and coach all in oo gauge. If this goes well and successful I may open an eBay store or a shop page on here so people can send their n gauge / oo gauge items to be weathered for £5 not including p&p. This seems to be a reasonable price as I do this for a hobby, not a job.

Thanks for looking. More update later this week.

Can anyone let me know how they get on with the humbrol powders, I weather most of my N gauge stock the old fashioned way, and with my own little adaption that worries a coupl of my mates but it works for me I think

dont give in, its not that difficult just get a waggon and practice on that first or one of the old Dapol loco kits and give it a go on that otherwise it could be expensiive going to the retailiers.

I have some very poor quality pictures of some of the loco's I've weathered and they were mostly from a pallete of 4 colours, but look at some of the entries on here from some other chaps they are truly stunning

dont give in, its not that difficult just get a waggon and practice on that first or one of the old Dapol loco kits and give it a go on that otherwise it could be expensiive going to the retailiers.