Hornby Traction Tyres

southernelectric

My PECO PL-40 wheel cleaning kit arrived in the post today. I have mostly Bachmann locos, couple of Heljans and Dapols, but a few Hornby steam locos too. On the instructions for the PL-40 it says not to use on any loco with traction tyres.

As I'm still a complete and utter novice at all of this can somebody explain:

1. What exactly are traction tyres?

2. I am posting the question mainly because I read somewhere, forget where exactly, that some Hornby locos have traction tyres? How will I know if mine do or don't? All my Hornby locos are super-detailed models (Clan Line, Flying Scotsman and Mallard) if that makes any difference.

3. Finally, are any of Bachmann's, Hejan's or Dapol's locomotives fitted with these type of tyres?

34theletterbetweenB&D is exactly correct; Traction tires are rubber tires that are fitted to the wheels of a locomotive to improve traction. They came about many years ago as a means of allowing the locomotives to pull heavier trains without replacing the bodies with metal ones - the heavier the locomotive, the more it can pull because of more weight and adhesion to the rails. These have been made obsolete on a lot of current models, mainly due to the key issues with traction tires:

-if they are coated in oil, like the PL-40 lubricant, they lose adhesion and are unable to grip the rails properly anymore

-they can wear down and need replacing over time and use

-as the rubber coating does not conduct electricity, the locomotive is unable to use those wheels for electrical pickup and its conductivity is lessened