RtR Hornby Class 31 R3144A From DC kits

LULFAN

Hi All

I've just taken delivery of a Hornby Class 31 R3144A, ready to run - with sound from DC Kits

I put it on my track, selected F1 for sound, up it came, sounding very nice

Time to move it forward - nothing

The engine note changed a bit but no movement. I left it on idle for a bit longer and tried again - no movement

So I gave DC Kits a call. They assured me it had been running fine for 3 days. Must be a fault at my end, I was told

I tried again but this time with the sound switched off. And the video here shows the result

http://youtu.be/Tgiujb8q8YA

Now, I'm no expert on these things but to me it doesn't sound right.
So I sent a link to the video above link to DC Kits, they tell me the fan's been removed to fit a bigger speaker,

yet the fan can still be seen and I shouldn't expect any better performance in terms of speed because all the ESU chips are like that

I was also told - anyway - real Class 31's don't go very fast

I do have another Class 31 and it doesn't buzz and screech like this one

But DC Kits say that's because it doesn't have a ESU chip in it

I have returned the loco today but I'm interested to know the opinion of others

Is the loco defective and DC KIts are spinning me a yarn ?

or is this what happens when you put a sound chip in a Class 31 ?

I look forward to reading other people comments

I would give Charlie or Biff a call - it sounds like something is catching as the motor runs, maybe loose wire, it does sound rough?

Take the body off to take a look, but there is a problem with it!

As for DC kits DS 31.....I have a 31 off  Biff and it does sound very good in deed - although you do need a decent size speaker for it.  

We have been talking, see the E.Mails from my end.

Email 1:

The fan as mentioned before has been removed to fit in the larger speaker.