Slaters wagon woes

mopar

Evening all,

I've been slowly building a collection of opens and vans, comprising examples from Peco, Parkside, JLTRT and Slaters.

I'm on my second Slaters, a standard van, having completed a shock wagon.

I'm finding it impossible to complete the brake gear guides, on the open I ended up with 3 of the 4 broken and managed to hide the damage on the inside of the brake gear.

Broke another one this evening :angry:

To be honest I'm not too impressed with the way they are moulded on the sprue, plus the plastic seems very brittle.

I'm a signwriter by trade so do have a deft touch, it just seems that the parts in question defy all attempts to either be removed

from the sprue in one piece or be cleaned/fettled without breaking.

Is it just me or have any of you chaps had problems?

I should add I'm not bashing Slaters kits here, it's just these little parts are a nightmare.

Pictured are the bits in question....

post-12337-0-22483900-1377034193_thumb.jpg

Cheers

Gene.

Hi,

I think Slaters are doing their best to try and keep most parts to a scale size, if you look at the brake detail on the Parkside kits they tend to be a bit more " chunky ". Personally what a lot of us chaps do is to replace those brake safety straps with some pieces of scrap brass fret , easy to make and a lot less brittle.

Hope this is of some help.

Martyn.

Gene,

I agree with Martyn that substituting brass scrap for the safety loops is a good, possibly the best, idea; but if you want to stick (sic) with the plastic there are a number of ways you can try to strengthen it before cutting, starting with a thin overall brushing of liquid cement, or a couple of coats of 'Klear' (whatever it's called in the UK this week)*. Either way leave the coating to dry thoroughly and if you don't think it has been effective enough don't hesitate to do it again.