Reliability of LEDs, and the curious case of a burnt out resistor

Dr.Glum

Hello your electronics experts,

I've been using LEDs for about 18 months, and in that time have only had one failure. That was my fault. I forgot to include the resistor in the circuit when I was testing a newly-bought one, so I applied 12volts across it! A brief flare of light and then it's dead.

Up till now the LEDs I've used have been from Maplins, or model suppliers such as Modelex. This week I have been deploying ones from a cut up Christmas set, which have the advantage of 1) being cheap and 2) securely prefitted with wires soldered to their legs. I read elsewhere in RMweb that such sets are often made up of cheap LEDs that fail to meet qualtiy control. I don't know if that has a bearing on what I've just experienced.

I wanted to test one such (call it item B, for b****r) before soldering a resistor to it. My little test rig of wires and chocolate blocks had just been used to test an identical LED (call it A) with a 3.9Kohm resistor. So I swapped B for A, and also changed the resistor for a 10Kohm one, in order to see how dim that might be. I reached across to plug in my power source and looked back to see what the light was like. No light, but curls of smelly smoke. "Oh blimey", says I. Actually that's not what I said, but nevermind. Hurried unplugging.

I removed the cooked resistor, checked my wiring to see if somehow I'd connected things up wrong. Nothing obvious, so swap in a new 10Kohm resistor. "Oh lawkes a mercy, you'll burn the house down!" That one did the same: one grey extremely smelly slug. Luckily I had no more 10K resistors! As the LED has shone no light in any of this, I conclude it has failed.

So here is the question: was the initial failure in the resistor or the LED? Have you had any LEDs fail in service, and if so, what sypmtoms (apart from the bl****** obvious)?