Shunting plank

Hippo

• RMweb Premium

Well I started this on Christmas eve after buying a Hornby Sentinel.

I took my inspiration from here 

http://www.carendt.com/scrapbook/page93/index.html (First one down 'Little End Yard')

Although I have put 2 points not 1.

Buildings will probably end up being Scalescenes as they are cheap.

post-8690-0-62777200-1388404802_thumb.jpg

post-8690-0-13529700-1388404826.jpg

I'm not sure what to call it yet, although 'Sentinel Lane' or 'Wood Works' (using my surname of Wood) seems to be a favorite in our household.

Size is 1150x200mm, the track is Peco code 75. The points are medium elctrofrogs modified to improve running, powered by Seep point motors, and every last piece of track has its own power feed to try and get reliable running. When I finally finish laying the track.

I'm not sure yet if I'm going DCC as I have a full Gaugemaster prodigy set in the loft, although I may just go for plain old DC.

post-8690-0-42955600-1388405207.jpg

Thanks for looking

Owen

• RMweb Premium

Well new years eve and a few more hours this afternoon have seen the track laying and wiring finished for now.

What a mission for such a small layout. Most of it being my own fault, I really wanted droppers on every piece of track to help with reliable running. I also had trouble with the point motors, the trouble being I lost the instructions months ago and proceeded to wire them up wrong and then spend a an hour trying to work out what was wrong... Doh. A quick google and all was sorted. I also had trouble with one of the two frogs, I had used a second hand point from my stash and although it looked ok I couldn't work out why the frog wasn't getting power I tried everything as by this stage it was all glued down. As a last resort I ripped it up to find the original wire fitted by Peco for the frog had come un-soldered.