Bespoke Station announcements

KimHoffmeister

Hello,

Andy has kindly allowed me to post here to explain a service I may be able to offer some of you.

I am a voice over artist, generally working on audio books and adverts. My style is very 'Queen's English'.

Recently I was hired by a gentleman with a model railway layout to create bespoke announcements; a little snippet of which can be heard here

Is this something which other people would be interested in? I work with a studio called Reel Films and we can produce a variety of effects, and sounds, and all with a quick turnaround.

Thank you for letting me make the suggestion Andy and I look forward to hearing from others if they believe there is any mileage in this sort of service.

Kim.

For years I have been looking for a DVD that plays station announcements (for the ER) as they sounded back in about 1955/60.  Essentially i would like to have it as background sound when i have visitors.  Don't know if this is possible but you asked

Hello Horsetan, yes - my announcements were recorded for a DCC layout.

Theakerr - I think creating a long playing CD of background noise would be cost prohibitive to the customer, unless there were many customers! There may however, be effects or royalty-free, stock audio to be purchased on a sound clip site?

I like the 'echo' effect,  although, Tannoy announcers were only / usually heard in larger stations.

Some stations' announcements were / are clearer than others.  Maybe a 'muffled' voice would suit a fictitious layout ?... with the Guard's Thunderer thrown in, for good measure.

(Plus Marching Band music for anyone modelling Waterloo :sungum:)

All the best.

• RMweb Gold