Modern Image Highburgh Central

keith73

Modern Image Highburgh Central

Hi to everyone. Im keith and im new to the RMweb forums. A few months ago we moved house & I got a huge attic all to myself, which is the home to my new modern image 00 layout “Highburgh Central” and I decided to post on here how Im getting on.

As a bit of back ground I had a small layout when I was a kid & then grew out of it for about 25 yrs. Then after watching BBC Great British railway journeys with Michael Portillo i decided to dig out my old trains & track. My original 6x3 layout was made by my dad which i dismantled & a couple of years ago made into another baseboard layout 8x5 “Winterhope Junction”  which was modern image twin track but really too small for what I wanted. Last November we moved into a bigger house with boarded out attic which is to be its new home. I dismantled Winterhope junction which is now Highburgh Central. Hope I havnt bored you all too much so far lol.

Highburgh  Central will probably be a ongoing project for years to come as all layouts are . I have a lot of it done now but first had to wire sockets and lights into the attic, insulate it, then board the rafters before doing anything, As it stands now all the baseboards are constructed & most of the tracks laid, so all below is a bit of a catch up

Some info on the layout

It is modern image locos & rolling stock mostly newly bought, but i have a couple older locos from my early days – a Hornby class 37 with BR mk1 coaches and an BR intercity 225 DVT despite their age they both run great. Other locos to run will be DMU class 153 & 158 in Northern Rail and Scotrail liveries as i live in North England also a Bachmann Virgin Super Voyager. Class 08,37,58,66 in EWS and DRS liveries pulling various loads and the Hornby Orient Express.