Catenary recommendations please

buffalo

I need to source some RTR (or at least, minimal effort) catenary parts for a small layout set in a wholly imaginary location, but very close to southern Germany, Austria, Switzerland and northern Italy :blink: The line is a single track winding through mountainous terrain and carrying tourists and some freight. What I think I need are poles, supports and wires suitable for a light railway in a rural location, rather than modern high-tech mainline kit.

As a complete newbie when it comes to continental modelling I know nothing about the relative merits of the products on the market. So far, I've found products by Viessmann, Electrotren and one or two others but am not at all sure whether any of these are suitable.

Any recommendations, please?

Nick

EDIT: I should have mentioned that my interest here is in HO scale.

Many thanks to both of you :)

Paul, is that Sommerfeldt components that you have used on your RHB Rhatia layout? What you have there on the single line sections looks ideal for my needs.

You both mention the catalogue, is it the one on the left of this page, or do you think I need the wiring guide? I don't intend using the catenary for power feed.

Thanks again,

Nick

• RMweb Premium

If you're looking for Italian DC OHLE, you could also have a look at what the people at lineamodel.it have to offer - their FS catenary can be found in the "Palificazione Linea Model FS in Kit H0-1:87" section. I cannot say anything about their quality, however - though their FS locomotive kits do look very good.

Interestingly, Linea Model also do a range of FS three-phase OHLE as used up until the late 1970s.

Arrived home today to find the Sommerfeldt catalogue and book waiting for me. They certainly look to be useful resources and include relevant prototype photos as well as information about their models. Looks like I'll be learning a lot about catenary over the next couple of weeks :)