WESTDALE BULLEID SEMI-OPEN BRAKE THIRD KIT 7MM

jimbo

attachicon.gif2526_20090713_0036.jpg

attachicon.gif2526_20090209_7981.jpg

I'm going to be an ar*e and mention that the sides look a little 'flat' but it might just be the angle of the shot? However I do like the look of the roof; grand job.

P

Hi Jim.

Rivet count 'On'......I agree, it looks flat sided... Also, the roof mounted rainstrips... should be more concentric / parallel to each other, and check whether, depending on the period modelled, the upper one hadn't been removed. (See Mallard's pics)......Rivet count 'Off'.

Otherwise. it's looking good.

Thanks for posting.

Thanks for the replies..

This is my first attempt on a coach. The Westdale kit comes with an mdf base and is mainly glued. The instructions are a bit scant to say the least,luckily I have the Mike King book on Southern coaches and a lovely CRT kits coach (asembled/painted by them)s to compare.

Also this is my first real soldering attempt as I bought the Wayoh bogies and after a little experimentation and swearing now enjoy brass soldering !

Ciao.

Jim.

• RMweb Premium

Yes sorry Jimbo, I rather pounced on that point of sides. However, when I first started doing coaches (and I must recommend Comet's Bulleids for ease of build and having a good Bulleid 'shape'), I got really excited but then later disappointed that my coaches didn't quite look right. It's a bit disheartening when us 'oldies' mention these things, however I think you will want your coaches to look 'right' after putting in a load of hard work.

All the best and enjoy building more, but do etched ones.

Phil

Hi Jim.

Rivet count 'On'......I agree, it looks flat sided... Also, the roof mounted rainstrips... should be more concentric / parallel to each other, and check whether, depending on the period modelled, the upper one hadn't been removed. (See Mallard's pics)......Rivet count 'Off'.

Otherwise. it's looking good.

Thanks for posting.

Hi Again,