model power switcher?

don

Hello all,i am considering purchasing a Model Power 040 steam switcher to use on my USA style inglenook.

What i want to know of course is the size is just right as is the price! but would it be usable?can it be fitted with KD's?

If anyone has any experiance of this little loco then i would appreciate your views.

Don.

The current version comes with knuckle couplers, presumably there is a way to swap them for genuine Kadees. I have no experience with the current iteration of the 0-4-0, but remember that it has a very short wheelbase and long overhangs, so it will likely wobble and pickup may be an issue. The very similar 0-4-0 tank (quite ancient) I used to have was effectively useless on anything other than plain track.

Adrian

My gut instinct is to avoid anything made by Model Power.

Depends on the actual item. The Model Power N-scale steam locos are pretty good (made by Ajin in Korea). The original iteration of the HO 0-4-0 was, I think, equipped with a ringfield motor in the cab (although the one I remember may have been some other manufacturer's interpretation of an 0-4-0).and was quite dire.

I do think you would find the 0-4-0 disappointing as a shunter.

Edit. I believe the Model Power switcher started life as the Lima switcher.

Adrian

Depends on the actual item. The Model Power N-scale steam locos are pretty good (made by Ajin in Korea).

Adrian

Actually, they are incredibly inconsistent. The detail is nice and some run very well, but there is no consistency as to which run well and which don't which makes actually buying one a somewhat hazardous proposition. I won't even get into the nightmare of fully fitting DCC to these either.