Is it a volt meter I need ?

3 link

I have very little knowledge of things electrical as you will see, and I am sure it will be a simple answer.

I have built some brass tie bars and they recommend you place some double sided tape to insulate the two parts, I would like to be able to test the insulation before I put them in place.  I know if I just flashed the bare wires across the two parts I would probably get a spark ( or not ).

So is a volt meter the best way of being certain ?

ATB,

Martyn.

A continuity tester will do the job and you could even lash up something with a bulb and a battery, but as multi meters have a continuity setting, they will pay dividends in the long run.  A few quid spent now will pay for itself time and time again.

If you are trying to make sure they are insulated you need the resistance or Ohms range. It will probably be marked as 2K, 2M or similar. It may have the Omega sign against this part of the range. The display will probably be 1.     followed by blank space. You want it to NOT change when you put the probes on the test piece. Put the probes together and you will see a change, because this is a short circuit, ie 0 ohms

• RMweb Premium

Hi Martyn,

I'm not very good at electrics too. I have a multimeter and I know how to check for continuity and resistance with it, so as others advise, a cheap multimeter should be fine.

However, I also have a continuity tester (bought from Kent Panel Controls, sadly no more) which I find much easier for me. All it is is a plastic box containing a battery, bulb (led to be precise) and a buzzer, with two leads coming out of the box. Put the leads on the thing you want to test, if the bulb lights and the buzzer sounds, you have continuity, if not, there is no circuit. You could easily make one.