RMweb

Kitson tank locomotives

844fan

Ok after my topic on "Lively Polly" revealed her origin as a Kitson loco I'm a bit curious on finding more of their tank locomotives to see how they went about their designs.

I'll post a find of my own in the morning but at the moment I'm on a mobile device and can't link properly.

Anyone know of any interesting Kitson tanks? I do know a little about the experimental Kitson-Stills   diesel/steam hybrid Locomotive but any information I could need on her is at hand or on the LNER Encyclopedia site so I won't bother with her here.

Also I do hope I'm not becoming a nuisance with so many posts lately. I just have a wide variety of topics I want to know more on.

all i know is just from the appearance is that lively polly was directly based on their tram locos.

some of the Kitson photos that ive been collecting for a few years.

similar to lively polly, south australian railways

post-9948-0-78357100-1430471729_thumb.jpg

Brampton railway http://www.cumbria-railways.co.uk/brampton_railway.html

post-9948-0-04735300-1430471595.jpg

Hull & Barnsley railway

post-9948-0-63005000-1430471636_thumb.jpg

and one of my favourite areas, the Kitson-meyers

Tal Tal railway

post-9948-0-29214900-1430471946.jpg

Edited by sir douglas
  • Like 5

The Stephenson Railway Museum in North Tyneside has a 19th C Kitson built pannier tank engine based on a Stephenson design. It used to work Consett Iron Works then the NCB used it at Derwenthaugh coke works up til the 1970's. I think it's currently in steam, it was very recently.

Edited by Raised On Steam

How far do you want to cast your net?