Complete Newbie asking layout advice.

Dear All.I am completely new to the hobby.I have attended several shows across the years out of curiosity.I am now able to spend some time and a modest budget developing a layout.The appeal to me is the creative side,developing nostalgic settings and placing my favourite die cast  vehicles from the fifties and early sixties,my childhood, on a layout.This is where I need some help.I intend to utilise a small area available to me and that confines the layout to seven feet by two feet maximum.I have been looking at plans and think a branchline with goods yard, cattle dock and possibly a country halt type station would suffice.As I say my interest will be developing scenics but at the same time must offer a degree of shunting opportunities.

Could anyone suggest a good end to end layout and its operating potential in 00 gauge.

I hope that,s enough to allow you chaps to offer some advice.I do have a modelling background having spent over twenty years building and sailing radio control ships and boats.

Thanks for stopping by.Andy. 

Firstly welcome along. A good trawl through this and other forums and websites should provide lots of suggestions but one you might consider can be found in Iain Rice's book published by Wild Swan. Don't be put off by the term finescale. There is a lot of useful info on layout planning and construction and while much is aimed at finescale modelling there's nothing wrong with Peco track and current ready to run locos and stock. The plan I'm thinking of is called Elan and takes 6'6" x 1'9" including fiddle yard. Unfortunately I've lent my copy of the book out but maybe someone else could provide a scan of the plan.

post-19895-0-67193900-1513014249.jpg

Edited by RexAshton
  • Like 1

Use Peco Flexi track. Possibilities are endless. 

Use Track pins from USA. they are very hard to bend.

Don't forget to put cork underlay between track and baseboard. (like i did to start with :-( )