Selextric

CFL

Hi all, I just made a bid on a Trix loco which the seller marked as DCC-/-Sx decoder. Now I have a Gaugemaster Prodigy² to run my DCC layout but upon checking up I see Sx is Selextric and unique to Trix/Märklin. What I need to know, and can't find out is if the Guagemaster and Sx are compatible? If not I have a problem and may have to beg the seller to withdraw my bid.

Here's hoping you can help,

Ian

I'm wary of the word *should* as it used by second-hand car salesmen!

Joking aside the loco is a modern one and the seller claims it to be brand new so I would go along with the idea of it being switchable and even switching itself automatically.

In the meantime I have sent a mail to Gaugemaster asking their opinion, when I get a reply I will gloss over where they try to sell me one of their chips and put the rest of the reply here.

Fingers crossed, I want that BR18 for my Rheingold Express.

Selectrix (note the spelling) was a proprietorial digital system introduced by Trix in Germany in the 1980s. It was discontinued by Trix following the takeover of German Trix by Marklin over 20 years ago, but I believe that one or two other manufacturers in Continental Europe took it up as the Selectrix (SX) was developed by Doehler & Haas and Trix licensed it.

Selectrix only decoders cannot be used with a DCC only command station like a Gaugemaster, but it can be used with a multiprotocol command station like the ESU ECoS.

If the decoder in your loco can operate on Selectrix or DCC then you should be OK with your Gaugemaster, but do try to find a manual for the decoder if you can in case it needs to be switched from Selectrix to DCC.  I don't know if this manual would be appropriate https://doehler-haass.de/cms/media/pdf/DH05A_DH10A_en.pdf

It does say that Doehler & Haas SX/DCC decoders don't automatically switch between SX and DCC.

• Craftsmanship/clever 1

Sorry about the spelling, I must have been thinking of my kid brother's Scalextric.