Kitmaster FK Coach Kitbash

Background

I have been modelling BR and GWR trains in 00 scale since the 1950s. I particularly enjoy restoring, rebuilding and kitbashing old models. See also http://www.rmweb.co.uk/community/index.php?/topic/70550-carmarthen-junction-miscellena/

I am happy to work in plastic, white metal, brass, steel, nickel silver, card and balsa – whatever medium is appropriate for the job at hand.

I used to model individual vehicles or buildings, but now, with a large collection, I tend to model complete train formations (such as the WR Blue Pullman http://www.rmweb.co.uk/community/index.php?/topic/67038-blue-pullman-cheap-and-cheerful/ . However, as I retired in 2009, I now need to keep my costs down.

My club’s 00/H0 layout (which is designed to be flexible in prototype and period) was to portray BR steam/diesel transition period for our 2011 show, with my contribution requiring the following coach formations:

The Talisman: Eastern region, 1960-61; London (Kings Cross) to Edinburgh :

BSK, 3 SK, RU, RFO, CK, FK, BSK (maroon livery)

Cambrian Coast Express;  Western region, June, 1962; London (Paddington) to Pwllheli/Aberystwyth

BSK, SK, FK (Pwllheli); RU, FK, SK, BSK, SK(FO) (Aberystwyth)

(chocolate & cream)

Torbay Express; Western region, 1958; London (Paddington) to Torquay:

BSK, 2 SK, SO, RU, 2 FK, SK, BSK (chocolate & cream)

Further Information: http://finance.groups.yahoo.com/group/BRCoachingStock/

Glossary:

BSK:   Brake second corridor

CK:     Composite corridor

FK:      First corridor

RF:      Restaurant first

RFO:   Restaurant first open

RU:      Restaurant unclassified

SK:      Second corridor

“The Talisman” was to be hauled by one or another of my Hornby live steamers. (Demonstration of these models has been an annual feature at our shows for the last few years.) CCE would be hauled by double-headed Manors and “Torbay Express’ would be hauled by “Warwick Castle”.

Enlarging the Collection