It's almost time for another new issue of BRM, so to whet your appetite, here are the highlights of the May issue. It's my first issue in charge of the magazine, so do let me know what you think of it. Any feedback is welcome. As I'm new to BRM I'm keen to learn what you like (and don't like!), anything you'd like to see more of and any suggestions for making it even more relevant to your modelling needs. You can either PM me or send an email to benj@warnersgroup.co.uk

Layout of the Month - Engine Wood (OO)
Tim Maddocks’ (Captain Kernow) ‘other’ Somerset & Dorset-based layout, providing a snapshot of a fictional alternative S&DJR route in its final years.

Layout Focus - Trebudoc (O)
Andy Peters takes a big step in a layout build from current image OO to O gauge steam. A BR Southern/Western Region branch line terminus in Cornwall.

Layout Focus - Juniper Hill (OO)
Mark Branson shows what you can achieve in OO gauge with his industrial layout on a shelf that’s just 3’ x 8”.

Practical BRM
Build a pizza layout (Pt 2)
Build LMS and BR beer wagon kits (OO & O)
Add flashing tail lights to a brake van
Construct a Metcalfe brewery kit
Beginners guide to track systems
Q&A Special: Useful tools

Brewery Special
'Ale by Rail' - prototype beer traffic operations and archive photos
BRM visits Burton Brewery Museum to see an unusual 2mm:1ft scale townscape with working railways

News & Reviews
Hattons/Heljan LMS Beyer Garratt review + LMS Garratt history

Kernow Model Rail Centre/Graham Farish N gauge china clay 'hoods'

What’s New - including the latest from Bachmann, Dapol, DJ Models and Heljan and first photos of the Graham Farish N Class 2-6-0 and Heljan 'Met' electric.

Plus…

Q&A
Readers’ Layouts
Letters
Diary Dates

This issue will be available to download as a Digital Edition on Friday (April 4) and on-sale in shops next Thursday (April 10).

To download, go to: www.pocketmags.com/BRM or download the ‘British Railway Modelling’ app if you’re on an iPad/tablet device.