2FS - Smokey Bacon

SteveBedding

Introduction

I have to start somewhere... Having been a 'consumer' of RMweb for several years, I feel I ought to put down my plans for posterity – I’ll add my disclaimer now – although I’m a technical comms engineer by profession, I’m a real luddite when it comes to this form of media. sad.gif

Like many projects, the idea is formulated long before any real progress is made; some may call this planning, but often (as in this case) it is simple procrastination! Having been away from railway modelling for over 25 years I decided a while to actually get back into it – I had built several ‘plonk & play’ OO layouts and decided that a move to N gauge was called for – the principle of more trains per sq ft appealed. The initial concept was for LMS/S&DJR layout based around Mangotsfield Junction between Bath & Bristol, and several years of research and stock collecting ensued – but like all good intentions, this plan somehow never got off the drawing board!

However, following a change in domestic management, a new lease of enthusiasm has burst forward; SWMBO, who is also a railway fan (ex-FGW ‘trolley dolly’ biggrin.gif ) has ‘authorised’ the existence of a model railway (on the condition she gets her own one as well…) but did insist on it being GWR/WR. Since we met in Wiltshire it seemed reasonable to look locally and Calne leapt out as an interesting subject.

post-6085-128173226965.jpg

Before the cries of ‘oh no, not another GWR branch line terminus’ I have to say that Calne has many features that make it ‘different’. Three distinct aspects make it stand out from the crowd…

For much of its existence, the carriage of pigs out-numbered the passengers - the presence of the Harris bacon and sausage factory required numerous movements of cattle wagons and modified Siphons, it also meant that there was an old WW I hangar within the boundary of the station.