Oh dear, its finally happened - I took the plunge and purchased one of the JLTRT 7mm diesel loco kits. As you will have seen from the title this is to be 40118. I have never built anything in this scale before and its a little daunting to say the least.

The details so far: 40118 xb LO BR Blue circa 1981, disc headcodes, with no frost grille, Long-short-long boiler grills, two brackets either side of the door catches. I initially thought that 40118 had its number on one nose end but after trawling photos it seems I must have been mistaken for either 40012 or 40058! If anyone knows anything I've missed or have a correction to the aforementioned please feel free to add to the list.

After posting here before, trying to research the ins-and-outs of the kit and how to build it (JLTRT Class 40), I've been busy purchasing components:

post-4186-008893500 1288898083_thumb.jpg

post-4186-053211000 1288898098_thumb.jpg

post-4186-079740800 1288898116_thumb.jpg

Ok, so far... erm not very far actually. I have decided to start with the bogies and running gear so I folded the gear boxes, inserted the brass bearings, gears and test fitted the motors with their worm gear:

post-4186-043369400 1289343310_thumb.jpg

A test fit with the motors attached (I know they are upside down I was just trying to ascertain how much room I needed to the gearbox and how to fit them) and I ended up with this:

post-4186-098232400 1289343541_thumb.jpg

Having looked at the alignment of the brass gear (the fact that I needed a few washers as spacers), I thought that turning the left hand bearing around would help alleviate this and provide space along the remainder of the axle for the 10T sprocket. With a little bit of re-soldering (now it looks a little untidy at the moment) and filing the brass gear sits nice within the gearbox and turns very smoothly with very little sideways movement:

post-4186-041173100 1289343500_thumb.jpg