Poor mobile reception on board Virgin trains

sub39h

Hi guys,

I've noticed recently that I've been getting very poor phone reception on board Virgin Trains, most notably the Super Voyagers. If my phone is more than about an inch from the window lose reception almost entirely!

I haven't changed my phone or provider recently, so is there any reason why I've suddenly noticed a massive dip in performance?

It is very much a first world problem, I know. But I commute to London 4 or 5 days a week and it would be nice to have something to do to pass the time.

This is a problem .... try reading a book, or maybe, just maybe ...try to strike up a conversation with the person next to you !

I'm a uni student atm - having internet means I can access research papers etc on the fly. Usually reading one paper means I need to read 5 more from its citations to get a better understanding so never know what I need to read!

• RMweb Premium

This is a problem ....  try reading a book, or maybe, just maybe ...try to strike up a conversation with the person next to you !

Or sit back and watch the world go by - one of the main reasons rail travel is a good way of travelling even if you've no interest in trains in my opinion (although my opinion also means seeing a lot that annoys me, or nothing but trees at close range...)

All the Voyager/Meridian family have been bad for mobile reception since they were built. I think it's partly due to the UV filter film on the windows

Is that why the windows often look rather shiny from the outside? I assumed that it was some sort of style choice.

Faraday cage effect?

I would imagine the large windows would mean a Faraday cage wasn't possible - may be wrong though! Physics was never my strong suit! 

Plus reception used to be ok. I travel between Coventry and London and from Coventry until about Milton Keynes I never got good reception. Now I struggle within the M25 where I used to have solid reception!