Covered Carriage Conundrum #889017

Shedmaster

Dear All,

Please could anybody help me identify what type of vehicle this is ?

I would like to create a model in 4mm scale and although I don't expect one in RTR any time soon, I am hoping to at least identify a similar donor to start with.

Formerly resident at Battersea Stewarts Lane, London, it would appear to be a CCT or PMV type van, but it has the sides and ends of a CCT and the under frame of a PMV ?

The axle boxes are even stranger to me although I'm no expert in this area so happy to be educated...

Here are some pics to help....

post-7088-0-82856500-1446156681.jpg

post-7088-0-49071600-1446156985.jpg

post-7088-0-36657200-1446157006.jpg

post-7088-0-74903000-1446157022.jpg

post-7088-0-68253800-1446157044.jpg

post-7088-0-24533400-1446157063.jpg

post-7088-0-02626300-1446157089.jpg

post-7088-0-98651300-1446157116.jpg

Many Thanks for any help you can offer, good luck !

Kindest Regards,

Shed.

Hi,

Why has the number 990171 been painted over?

Regards

Vin

Because when the continent introduced a universal numbering scheme these wagons were renumbered for the continent. Later they were deregistered for continental traffic so returned to having their original BR number. They were similar to the single prototype BR CCT although the windows were soon plated over. The fittings - axleguards, buffers, couplings etc were to European standards. Air and vacuum brakes.

http://paulbartlett.zenfolio.com/brferrymotorcarvan

Paul

Hi,

Many Thanks for your detailed and really helpful replies on this one.

I thought it was a bit of a cross breed but am encouraged that in theory, it's only the foreign spec axle boxes that I need to get hold of for this, as the rest can be cut and shut from Bachmann CCT and PMV models, albeit a fairly expensive way to go about it ?

Kindest Regards,

Shed.

Hi,

Many Thanks for your detailed and really helpful replies on this one.