Getting started with DCC

adamcooke

Hi all,

I’m relatively new to DCC (and model railways entirely) and I’m trying to make some decisions about the technology that I should be looking to use for a new layout. I know what I want to achieve and I’m familiar with various options to achieve it but my understanding some some concepts is lacking.

I hope you don’t mind me just asking a few, what might be obvious, questions. I have done some research into these things too.

My layout will contain a couple of loops and a few sidings, controlled by points (with point motors and decoders).

I’d like to have appropriate signalling with blocking on previous signals.

I’d like to control everything from a PC.

The layout will have numerous static LEDs, LFX controllers, sound decoders etc... for non-train elements - house lights, fires, station announcements etc... It would be nice if these were controlled by DCC too so they could start/stop/change when trains pass.

The layout should run automatically on a program (or manually controlled when needed) with trains stopping at stations and red lights and changing direction at the end of non-looped track.

Firstly, I suppose, I need to know what software is best used for controlling and automating all this? JRMI? Rail master? RR&Co? Can these packages handle a completely automated program?

Secondly, what DCC “controller” is best which provides a USB or Ethernet interface for a PC? ELink? Signatrak? Prodigy? I’ve heard ELink doesn’t work well with JRMI (although the Hornby Elite does).

Finally, for now, on the track/block detection, do I need to use Loconet to interface with that? Can you do detection without Loconet? If so, what software supports this? I haven’t been able to find out much about this which makes total sense to me yet. I understand there’s block detection (any train in an area of track?) and track detection (any train at a specific point?).

I’m sure I’ll have other questions but I have no idea what they are yet!