The non-railway and non-modelling social zone. Please ensure forum rules are adhered to in this area too!

New ‘coking coal’ mine in Cumbria

billtee

I know this is slightly ‘off-topic’, but as we are all railway enthusiasts (otherwise we would not be modelling railways), I think it is relevant.

A new coal mine is being proposed for Cumbria, but it will be producing ‘coking coal’.

Now, I am not an expert on types of coal, so I am asking everyone:

Will steam locomotives (specifically, HERITAGE preserved steam locomotives) be able to use this type of coal, or will preserved/heritage railways still have to import coal from Russia and other countries to run their locomotives?

I realise that Welsh coal, with very high calorific value(?) is ‘the best’ according to the experts, but with the closure of all Britain’s mines that type of coal will no longer be available.

That means even MORE harmful CO2 being added to the world’s atmosphere so that we steam enthusiasts can enjoy our hobby, which can’t be good.

Any comments about the proposals might be very interesting!

All the very best,

Bill

• RMweb Gold

Hello Bill,  

Coal can be used for many things, including part of the steel making process.  By making coke, the impurities captured within the original fossil fuel are 'driven off' by burning in an enclosed space.  Certain seams of coal have higher or lower chemical values (including calorific values ). depending on location, seam depth, etc.  A QC chemist will test the incoming coke and recommend blending with other batches to get the right chemical composition for the customer.  

As this new mine is a private commercial enterprise, then the permission process will likely be very strict, with the emphasis on single point destination.   In this day & age, if a load of coal goes outside  the permitted path will attract the attention of the permission process authorities, so the prospect for 'outside use' might well be strictly limited.