Retro-fitting directional lighting to a Class 37

Hi

I'm still new at this. so please bare with me, I would like some advice. I intend to fit Directional lighting (no cab lights) to a class 37 loco, something I've never tried before, I think I have the wiring sorted to/from the decoder, (I'm using DCC) My question is do I need to fit a resistor to each LED or can I use one resistor for each set of lights (making four resistors in total) or does anyone know a different or better way of doing this, I am not electrically minded so anything I need would have to be bought and simple to install/solder.
I know of a company called Illuminated Models who make these type of things, but having spoken to a friend of mine who bought one, he suggested fitting my own LED's as their version sits too low and to make fit I would have to cut a large section out of the chassis to make room, also they do not have a template I could use to mark out where to drill, making that process a bit hit and miss.
Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Welcome @Smudge617 - you sound like me.
I have no real idea about electronics and schematic diagrams may as well be written in Chinese!

However...
What you want can be done and fairly easily.  Here's some questions:

Will you be fitting lights at each end?

Will these be bi-colour LEDs or will you have two red LEDs and two white LEDs at each end?
Is the DCC chip in a socket or bare wires at the end?

I will dig out some diagrams I drew to help me add lighting - I have done both bi-colour (which was only half successful) and dual colour in a German 218 loco (still a little proud of this).

I used one resistor (1K) per LED.