Can't change loco address on z21

Zoli

Hi everyone,

I got some trouble with changing loco addresses on my z21 white. 

I am just getting into DCC and spent hours trying to change the factory addresses on my locos. 

I am using the z21 app with the dark background which should be the right one. 

I've recently updated the firmware as well with a separate app.

When I am in programming mode the indicator is solid green. 

I go into CV programming, then programming track, manual then program address. When I press read it gives 9999.

After I change it to 5 and press set. A bit of processing with green light and it seems fine but the address actually doesn't change and the loco is still on No 3. The controls work perfectly fine with the factory setting.

Am I missing something or this needs to be done so where else? 

I went through every single option in the app but no luck. 

I am using a laisdcc plux22 6 function decoder. 

Any help would be much appreciated!

ReplyForward

Edited by Zoli

• Zoli changed the title to Can't change loco address on z21

The default address stored in CV1 should be 3 and not 9999. I suggest that you are not reading the loco decoder.

Have created a bit of track that is entirely separated from the rest of the layout which is ONLY connected to the z21 to use as a programming track. Your layout must not be connected to the z21 when you are trying to program decoders.

Thanks for the quick reply!

This is happening on small programming track. Nothing else is plugged in to it and only a single loco on the track. 

I've just tried setting the value without reading it but the result is the same.

I've added a screenshot where I am trying to set the address just to make sure I'm on the right menu. The 9999 appears here in the middle when I read the decoder first. 

58 minutes ago, WIMorrison said:

The default address stored in CV1 should be 3 and not 9999. I suggest that you are not reading the loco decoder.