A pair of GWR Coaches

Hi all

As I'm new to RMWeb I thought I'd introduce myself with a couple of GWR coaches I built recently. One is a C67 full third and the other is a G62 12 wheel VIP saloon. I used Comet sides for both and a variety of other manufacturers' parts to complete the models. They are painted with acrylics and lined with enamels. I have another three on the stocks at the moment that I'm building for a client. There's an LMS D1703 brake third, an LNER Thompson 52' brake third and a Thompson corridor brake composite. I'll post pictures of them once they're finished - at the moment they're in grey primer.

Alan McMillan

post-6187-127808836598_thumb.jpg

post-6187-127808838826_thumb.jpg

Superb Andy.What coaches did you use with the Comet sides to overlay ?

It's Alan actually but I get that a lot for some reason!

I didn't use anything to overlay the sides onto. These are scratchbuilt using mostly brass. Heavily modified Comet underframe etches and extruded roof sections are the main parts that were involved. I scratchbuilt the underframes' details like the battery boxes, gas cylinders and the brake rigging together with corridor connections made from black paper. The interiors were made up from Plasticard and populated with Preiser figures. I hope to build more coaches from the GWR...they are by far the most attractive of any that the big four, or even BR, produced.

Regards

Alan

I'd be interested in a full list of ingredients! Must admit I do like that VIP saloon ...

Chris

Hi Chris

What details would you like?

On the other hand, I'd be willing to sell it...after all that's what I do...build coaches to order. And I can always build another one!!

Alan

• RMweb Gold

I'd be interested in a full list of ingredients! Must admit I do like that VIP saloon ...

Chris

You're not the only one Chris.Sorry Alan. :blush: