Layout from scratch. Any input appreciated.

Mysticpuzzle

Long story short, I am back to square one with designing the layout following some good advise from the seasoned modellers here (discussion under another topic).

I have zero experience and am doing it as a project with my son. How and where do I start?

Space I have (see attached photos):

• I currently rent following divorce so cannot opt for a permanent layout.
  • The dining room (pic 1) can be converted into a full time model space.
  • Pic 2 has a nice space with a platform which is ideal but I doubt if trains can go round in such a tight space
  • Pic 3 again has a nice space and the advantage of keeping my dining space

Expectations from the layout:

Minimum 3 trains (2 passenger and probably 1 goods). Two passengers if three is not possible at all.

2 - 3 stations (must have)

Points (must have)

Road(s) for model cars, busses etc. (must have)

A tunnel (must have)

Double level crossing (must have)

Shed (good to have)

Turntable (good to have if space is available)

No gradients

No 1st curves (?)

Current rolling stock:

GWR HST

Eurostar HST

Blue Highlander

Flying Scotsman

Am I aiming high here or is something possible in the given space?  If yes, where should I start? I have AnyRail and tried a few layouts but each time there was something I missed and then had to scrap everything.

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

• RMweb Gold

Welcome to the Layout & Track Design area, Mystic.